Tampa Reckless Driving & DUI Attorneys
Reckless driving can cause major accidents. Under of the Florida Statutes, it is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle recklessly, with "willful or wanton disregard" for public safety. This includes fleeing from a police officer. Reckless driving charges are often included with DUI charges to increase penalties and intimidate suspects into taking a plea deal. Reckless driving and DUI charges can lead to serious consequences.
The first conviction of this criminal act will result in the following penalties:
- Imprisonment for up to 90 days; and/or
- Monetary fine between $25 and $500
For a second conviction, there are more severe penalties:
- Imprisonment for up to 6 months; and/or
- Monetary fine between $50 and $1000.
These charges can escalate depending on the circumstances of the arrest. For example, someone who caused property damage or serious bodily injury would be facing a first-degree misdemeanor or third-degree felony. If the defendant was driving while drunk or drugged, penalties could include mandatory completion of a DUI substance abuse education course. The defendant would be in charge of paying the fees for the DUI program.
Contact Tampa Reckless Driving Attorneys
If you’ve been arrested for reckless driving in Tampa, Florida, it is vital to contact an experienced reckless driving attorney to discuss your legal options. With aggressive legal representation, you may be able to disqualify the evidence against you, avoid steep fees or jail time, or get an acquittal. The Tampa reckless driving lawyer湖南福彩网app官方下载s at Thomas & Paulk, P.A. have handled more than 7,000 cases like yours. As former prosecutors, we know what it takes to win a trial against the state. We’re the proven advocates you want in your corner.
Contact our experienced Tampa reckless driving attorneys today for a free case review: (813) 321-7323!
Drunk driving cases may or many not require a formal trial. We discuss what most can expect in terms of the process and duration of their DUI case.
At Thomas & Paulk, one of our primary focuses is on the defense of DUI charges. In fact, we are recognized throughout the Tampa area as one of the premier DUI defense law firms. Our team is well-versed in this area of the law and has a wide-expanse of experience in helping our clients fight against such charges.
It doesn’t matter if this is your first offense or your third, you can count on our firm to have the experience to protect your legal rights. Often, our defense starts with recounting with you how the police officer came to stop you in the first place and how he or she came to believe you may be under the influence of alcohol. If the stop was illegal, or the tests were improperly administered, we may be able to argue for the dismissal of that evidence in court, helping your chances of a dropped charge.
The important thing is that you act quickly. Criminal cases involving charges of drinking and driving are serious and they can move fast. You cannot afford to wait or ignore your charges. You need a legal professional on your side who truly understands what you're facing so that they can offer you experience counsel and sound advice. To learn more about how a lawyer湖南福彩网app官方下载 like this can assist with your case, we encourage you to contact湖南福彩网app官方下载 as soon as possible. Call our Tampa DUI defense attorneys at Thomas & Paulk today to schedule an initial consultation. This is a completely free, confidential appointment for you to tell us your side of the story.
If you're arrested for DUI, you only have 10 days to schedule a DMV hearing where you can fight to save your license.
A blood alcohol reading of 0.15% or more can warrant an aggravated DUI charge with harsher penalties.
Each year, Hillsborough County issues around 4,000 DUI citations. Out of these, more than 3,000 are found guilty.
Per Florida's zero-tolerance policy, anyone under the age of 21 who tests positive for any measurable blood alcohol can be charged with DUI.